George Kallis has in the past few years established himself as a composer of great talent, his music for motion pictures such as, THE BLACK PRINCE, ALBION THE ENCHANTED STALLION, GAGARIN-FIRST IN SPACE and THE LAST WARRIOR have created more than a ripple of interest amongst film music collectors and film producers, it is evident that the composer has an infinite gift for melody and also is able to create sweeping and epic sounding works that not only grace and support each movie he works upon, but also have the ability to stand on their own away from any images that the music was written to enhance and entertain and enthral just as music. His latest assignment CLIFFS OF FREEDOM is no exception, it is a score that contains numerous thematic properties and is at times dramatic and epic sounding, but also has to it a highly emotive and romantic sound that soon establishes itself as the heart and the soul of the work. The composer utilises a large orchestra to purvey all these emotions and senses, the string section and woodwind in-particular working well together to create the romantism and the melancholy.

The composer also brings into the equation brass and percussive elements to add a robust and exhilarating sound and style, choir is utilised to great effect at times underlining the instrumental sections and at other points being itself underlined and bolstered by the lush symphonic sounds that are present throughout the score. BATTLE OF VALTETSI is a prime example of effective dramatic writing, with thundering percussion acting as support for fierce sounding brass and commanding choral performances. Also woven into the score are various ethnic sounding performances that bring greater depth and add layers of atmosphere to the already alluring and beguiling soundtrack. CLIFFS OF FREEDOM will be a soundtrack that everyone will want, and one that all film music fans will adore. I love the way in which the composer blends lilting and lush passages and expands and develops these further with subtle addition of ethnic instrumentation, cello also gives the work a deep and richly poignant persona, which can be warm and comforting but also has the ability to be affecting and sorrowful, the music seems to invade the listeners inner self and haunts and tantalises long after one has finished listening to it. The central theme is beautifully written and superbly performed and in my opinion is best heard within the cue CENOTAPH, simply because we get to hear the music develop and grow and are treated to a gracious and wonderous sounding piece that rivals anything by Poledouris, Barry or Morricone when in romantic mode. I cannot recommend this score enough, it is certainly in the running already for next years Award season.

1. Fabric of History
2. Ottoman Patrol
3. Valtetsi Village
4. Can You Forgive
5. Tell Me What You See, Yia Yia
6. Return to Tripolitsa
7. Sunset Encounter
8. Are We Really so Different
9. You Know Nothing of My Mother
10. Children at the Door
11. Anna Christina’s Prayer
12. Not That Girl Any More
13. Joining the Rebellion
14. Caravan
15. Fog of War
16. Reason to Call Upon Him
17. Becoming a Legend
18. And by My Hand
19. It’s Not Your Fault
20. The Time Has Come
21. Cenotaph
22. General Kolokotronis
23. Freedom or Death
24. To Save You from Yourself
25. Battle Preparations
26. Battle of Valtetsi
27. Let the Blade Find the Cut
28. Simply the Truth
29. I’ll Wait for You (feat. Ariana George)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s